Thirty Complete Doctor of Chiropractic Program at Sherman College

Thirty Complete Doctor of Chiropractic Program at Sherman College

Thirty students from across the country received the doctor of chiropractic degree from Sherman College of Chiropractic in Spartanburg, SC, on Saturday, December 18, 2010. The commencement was a shared ceremony for both December 2010 and March 2011 graduates.

Michael J.B. Myers of Pennsylvania and Michael Thomas Rykse of Michigan, recipients of the Milton W. Garfunkel Award for the December and March classes, respectively, presented farewell addresses to their classmates. The Garfunkel Award is the highest award given at graduation. Students receiving this honor must have a grade point average of 3.5 or above, and in addition, best exemplify those qualities Sherman College would like to inculcate in all of its graduates: love of the profession, an understanding of the philosophy, willingness to share, and service to the college and community.

The Academic Achievement Award was presented to Myers for the December class and Michael Donald Knecht of Michigan for the March 2011 class. This award is given to the individual in each graduating class who maintains the highest grade point average throughout his or her studies at Sherman College.

The Service Distinction Award was presented to Katy M. Hughes of Pennsylvania. This distinction is not awarded at every graduation; rather it is given to special students who stand out for their significant and distinguished service contributions to Sherman College throughout their course of study.

Myers received the Clinical Excellence Award for the December class, along with Taylor Jacob Van Quaethem of Washington, for the March class. This award is given to the intern in each class who has established a successful practice in the Health Center and has diligently worked to develop his/her skills in the art, science, and philosophy of chiropractic.

Meghan Ruth Luttrell Palmer of Tennessee received the B.J. Palmer Philosophy Distinction Award, which is given in recognition of the outstanding student who has “that something” that exemplifies the profound philosophical understanding necessary to translate the universal principles of life into the workable philosophy, science, and art which is chiropractic.

The commencement address was given by John Hilpisch, D.C., of Lake Elmo, Minnesota. Hilpisch is chair of the Sherman College Board of Trustees and is well-known for his love and teaching of upper cervical chiropractic and the practice of the Blair technique. He was named Blair Chiropractor of the Year in 2005 and has been named Regent of the Year by Sherman College two years in a row, 2009 and 2010. His daughter Frances Culbertson was among the graduates.

R. L. Luttrell, D.C., delivered the charge to the graduates. Luttrell is a chiropractor who has run successful chiropractic practices in several states, including Kentucky, Florida, Michigan and most recently in Tennessee. He has been active as a member and leader in community organizations such as Rotary and Lions Clubs, Boy Scouts, Masons, school boards and town councils. His youngest daughter, Meghan Luttrell Palmer, was among the graduates and the recipient of the B.J. Palmer Philosophy Distinction Award.

The doctor of chiropractic program at Sherman College requires students to complete more than 4,800 hours (14 quarters) of classroom and laboratory study and also includes an internship in the college’s Chiropractic Health Center. To enter the program, students must have at 90 semester hours of college-level courses, including courses in the sciences. On its 80-acre campus in Spartanburg, South Carolina, Sherman College offers a graduate program unique in its focus on chiropractic philosophy and known globally for the skill and art of chiropractic delivered by its graduates. The college is home to a diverse student body representing 30 states and 14 countries.



 Sherman College of Chiropractic is accredited to award the doctor of chiropractic degree by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council on Chiropractic Education and the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and is licensed by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education. On its 80-acre campus in Spartanburg, SC, the college operates a Chiropractic Health Center open to the public where students intern under the supervision of licensed doctors of chiropractic.


For more information, please contact:

Karen Rhodes
Director of Public Relations
Sherman College of Chiropractic

2020 Springfield Road
P.O. Box 1452
Spartanburg, S.C. 29304

Telephone (864) 578-8770, ext. 242
Fax (864) 599-4860